Bite of Hong Kong

I was invited to try some authentic Cantonese food. And I was glad. This touts itself as more of a seafood place, so not a place that I might’ve visited on my own, being a vegetarian. But they mentioned that they had an array of vegetarian options.

I received a warm welcome there when I went for lunch last Thursday. After being seated and served some hot tea, the server suggested that their soup was tasty – spinach and pumpkin, quite gooey with probably corn starch. It was light.

As I was going through the menu, Chris came in to say hi. He was very friendly and recommended trying Buddha’s Delight – an array of hearty vegetables and mushrooms in bean sauce. And their Egg Tofu with Assorted Mushrooms. Loving spicy food, I asked to try mapo tofu without the meat.

I liked the food. The soup – subtle in flavor and light.

The Buddhist Delight – really good. Lots of crunchy vegetables, different types of mushrooms and root vegetables and a light sauce. Some of these vegetables / roots, I’ve only had at limited other places so extra points for that.

The Egg Tofu – really really good. Their tofu was exceptionally soft. The sauce was a nice balance of sweet and salty and a mildly thick consistency to eat. It came with an assortment of mushrooms and some greens and some root vegetables.

Mapo Tofu – good, different. Again, supremely soft tofu. Green peas in there were a first. It had the taste, but I missed that tongue-tickling and numbing peppers in there. The spice level was low 🙂

Bite of Hong Kong owned by Donald Lee serves traditional Cantonese cuisine. Chef Fei comes with his expertise here, right from Hong Kong.

I enjoyed my meal here and was happy that Chris recommended those dishes 🙂

Untitled
Untitled
Untitled
Untitled
Untitled
Untitled
Untitled
Untitled Untitled
Untitled Untitled
Untitled Untitled
Untitled Untitled
Untitled

http://www.biteofhongkongnewyork.com/

Bite of Hong Kong Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato
Bite of Hong Kong

Leave a Reply

