Cha An Tea House

A cutesy small tea place in Stuyvesant town. I am sitting here on a Sunday afternoon. It was bright when I decided to step out. While I was getting ready, the sun decided to step back into the clouds.

The place does not let in a lot of natural light. The place uses lot of wood in their decor which I like. A nice place to sit and catch up with friends.

This is the lavender mint tea that I ordered. The mint overpowered the French lavender scents or flavors.

20130224-150227.jpg

When I told my server that I am a vegetarian, she offered to check with the kitchen on what was available without fish broth.

She then suggested seven grain rice with pickles cucumbers and a side of root vegetables.

The root vegetables were good, lotus roots essentially, thinly sliced with a few grated carrots tossed in a sweet soy based sauce and served warm. The pickled vegetables were served cold.

It was alright. Seemed fresh and nothing wrong with the preparations.

20130224-152230.jpg

20130224-152237.jpg

20130224-152254.jpg

20130224-152242.jpg

Their desserts are supposedly good too. But I don’t think I’ll have any room for them after I am done with my rice and vegetables. Another time.

http://www.chaanteahouse.com/

Leave a Reply

