nycbonvivant

new york city foodsteps

Balaboosta

So they seat the two out of the three of us. But they don’t let us order the appetizers.

Annoyed, more because I was hungry, I decided to order for the table since he wouldn’t take our order otherwise.

Yuca chips ***.5
20130926-071108.jpg

Hummus ****
You’ve got to get this right, right?
20130926-070939.jpg

Pakora ***.5
lentil & zucchini fritters with tzatziki
This one is usually a no brainer to order.
20130926-071144.jpg

Crispy Cauliflower ***
lemon,‚Äč currants, pine nuts
The currants and pine nuts did a lot of the trick on this.
20130926-071207.jpg

Yemenite Pizza **.5
shaved fennel, caramelized onion, feta, arugula
I could’ve done with a thinner crust.
20130926-071221.jpg

Sauteed kale ***.5
20130926-071236.jpg

Homemade Swiss Chard Spaghetti ***.5
heart of artichoke, ricotta, crispy garlic, walnuts
20130926-071245.jpg

Knafeh ****
A surprisingly nice ice cream, with a cheesecake topped with crispy vermicelli, in rose water
20130926-071255.jpg

20130926-071307.jpg

Sky high expectations that were only partially met, in terms of the food. I’ll have to visit Taim again to satify the taste buds :)

However, something worth mentioning is the service. When I entered and before I got seated, I mentioned to the host that it’s my mother’s birthday and that when we order the dessert, we would like a candle on that. He acknowledged. However, as you see, the dessert came without the candle. While leaving, I told him that I didn’t get the candle that I’d asked for. He apologized. A few minutes later, he called me to apologize again, and offered to send me a gift card. Now that what I call courtesy in the hospitality in industry. No, not the gift card ;) but the fact that he called to apologize again. I have not come across a lot of people who would do that.

I’ll keep you posted on the gift card :)

http://balaboostanyc.com/

Balaboosta on Urbanspoon

Balaboosta on Foodio54

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 26, 2013 by in Good for Date, Manhattan, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern and tagged , , , , , , .

Tweats

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers

Urbanspoon

nycbonvivant New York restaurants

  • 6,377 have followed my fooDsteps

Blog Nation

blognation.com

Adjudication

wordpress com stats plugin

* Graze
** Nibble
*** Eat
**** Devour
***** Gobble up

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

