nycbonvivant

new york city foodsteps

Agozar

A vegetarian friendly Cuban place that could accommodate us on a Saturday evening without a reservation is reason enough to not complain, isn’t it?

The food was not at all disappointing. Neither was the service. Nor the wines or the mojito. It was a fun evening; other than the fact that these two friends discounted me for being drunk on only my second glass of wine and started gossiping about me indirectly while having the nerve to glance at me in the eyes. Was it just the alcohol or that they thought I couldn’t decipher their conversation?

Not that I wasn’t aware that these two are big gossipers, but the fact that they were talking in front of me about me assuming I wouldn’t get it broke my heart.

One, a guy who cannot handle a neat sambuca or a grappa better have respect for a lady who can. (Yeah, to hell with gender equality ;)).

Two, have respect for a human being and either be direct to them or not make them aware at all when your intentions aren’t noble enough to let them know in a subtler way about their thoughts of this human being in question.

These two friends fell flat badly on both. It’s not the first time I’ve seen them do that but this was just a confirmation of my notions about them.

I’ve actually seen one of these two do that in past as well. So, like I said, I am not oblivious to his actions. Also the second one, I noticed in the past wants to be polite to you up front and not speak his actual mind. But it just upset me a lot this evening seeing their behavior, and their guts to look me in the eye while gossiping about me, indirectly.

I know my rant is a little long winded and I haven’t spoken about the food at all, but I promise I’ll finish it. I only wanted to sleep with a lighter heart and hope to have your suggestions on handling situations like these.

What do you say? I would love to know your take on this. Please share your thoughts in the comments section.

The food – we ordered virtually every vegetarian option in their menu.

Tapas
Mariquitas ***
plantain chips, guacamole and black bean hummus. The chips and the dips were a bit light on salt.
20130406-235628.jpg

Torta de Frijoles ***.5
black bean dumplings – more like fried mini patties.
20130406-235612.jpg

Croquetas de Hongo ***
wild mushroom, piquillo sauce
20130406-235635.jpg

Yuca Frita ****
A new twist on the yuca fries, doused with garlic.
20130406-235655.jpg

Queso de Cabra ****
spiced walnut, goat cheese, mixed greens, apples, sherry vinaigrette
20130406-235704.jpg

Vegetarian burger *** – similar to the black bean dumplings
20130406-235711.jpg

Vegeteriano Platos Fuertes **
Light on salt, so the spices didn’t come out
congri rice, squash, zucchini, onions, tomatoes, piquillo sauce
20130406-235716.jpg

20130406-235725.jpg

Tres Leches ***
20130406-235731.jpg

Cuban Cigar *
The cigars were where they put all their salt!
20130406-235735.jpg

The chocolate cake (mousse with cake) **.5
20130406-235740.jpg

Salud! to a good evening.

http://www.agozarnyc.com/

Agozar! on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 7, 2013 by in Cuban, Manhattan, Not Good for Groups and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other followers

Urbanspoon

nycbonvivant New York restaurants

  • 7,756 have followed my fooDsteps

Blog Nation

blognation.com

Adjudication

wordpress com stats plugin

* Graze
** Nibble
*** Eat
**** Devour
***** Gobble up

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

