nycbonvivant

new york city foodsteps

Empellon Cocina

I could tell from the moment I stepped in that this place housed the great vegan restaurant called Counter where I went crazy about their fried okra.

A few years later, with my NYU buds, I came to spend an evening here.  The place has got a nice look.

I started with a nice Pinot Noir from Montinore Estates. We told them we’d like to get started with guacamole, and without asking they got us the pistachio one. As is the case these days, the portion was small, but it was fresh and well prepared. Served with a very different style of crisps.

I can attest they did not have any vegetarian entree on their menu when I visited, but they do have one now, which I am guessing is similar to what they served me – spiced vermicelli noodles with onions and cotija cheese. Decently prepared, nothing bad about it.

20130222-162958.jpg

What I absolutely loved was their chocolate dessert, which was very rich. Very differently presented. Like Scarpetta, it goes down in my books as one of the best presented desserts. With the whole flat rectangular look as a bed and then those tiny pieces of froth and nuts and ice creams as rocks – it looked wow and it tasted good. The picture does not do justice to it. But I’d recommend it.

20130222-163012.jpg

http://empellon.com/cocina/

Empellon Cocina on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 22, 2013 by in Manhattan, Mexican and tagged , , , , , .

Tweats

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 35 other followers

Urbanspoon

nycbonvivant New York restaurants

  • 7,625 have followed my fooDsteps

Blog Nation

blognation.com

Adjudication

wordpress com stats plugin

* Graze
** Nibble
*** Eat
**** Devour
***** Gobble up

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

